Old Chief Ministers With New Innings BJP Focus On Stability In Four States

The suspense that had been going on for the last 11 days ended with Pushkar Singh Dhami being elected the leader of the legislature party in Uttarakhand. It became clear that the BJP has decided to continue with the sitting chief ministers in all the four states. Under this, Pramod Sawant’s name was finalized in Goa. In Manipur, N Viren Singh has already been sworn in as the Chief Minister and there has never been any doubt in the name of Yogi Adityanath in UP. Most of the doubts were about Dhami. The reason was that even though the party had won a majority under his leadership, he himself lost the election.

One such case came in Himachal Pradesh in 2017, where the party’s CM candidate Prem Singh Dhumal himself could not save his seat even after winning the BJP. Then Jai Ram Thakur got the post of Chief Minister. But now the situation is different. Dhami was the third chief minister in Uttarakhand in a span of six months. These experiments of the party indicated that the BJP leadership was not giving much importance to the question of maintaining political stability in the state. These experiments further aggravated the problem of internal factionalism by increasing the number of former chief ministers in the party.

In such a situation, by agreeing to the name of Pushkar Singh Dhami as Chief Minister, while the high command has shown its desire to end the internal factionalism of the party, it has also indicated to maintain political stability in view of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

This sign is for all the four states. But one implication of the decision taken in favor of Dhami is being highlighted especially in the context of UP. There Keshav Prasad Maurya, who was the Deputy Chief Minister in the last term of the Yogi government, has lost the election. He has been described as the main face of OBCs in the state. In such a situation, efforts have started to tell that it means to make Dhami the Chief Minister again, Maurya will also be made the Deputy Chief Minister. But both are completely different matters.

CM Yogi Oath: Is CM Yogi taking oath only in auspicious time? ‘Rajtilak’ will happen in Kharmas

The decision not to change the chief minister’s post in the four states cannot be taken to mean that there will be no change in the chief minister’s team as well. Of course, there is a possibility that Keshav Prasad Maurya may get the post of Deputy Chief Minister again in the Yogi cabinet, but even if it happens, it will be a different decision, behind which completely different factors are working. However, in the new innings, the challenges before these Chief Ministers will also be new. It is expected that they will prove to be meaningful to the decision of the common voters by dealing with these challenges better than the previous innings.


Stability priority in all four states